What’s it going to be?!?!

What should my niche be in the photography world? I’ve photographed nearly every category but it seems like photographers these days narrow themselves down to only specializing in a few things. I was a second shooter for a photographer for 2 years. After receiving praise and feeling confident in my work, I opened up my own photography business.

I loved to take pictures as far back as I can remember. I was in 4-H and entered my work in photography, always receiving top awards. Photography was not something I just came upon. I didn’t just purchase a camera and say, “Hey, I’m going to take pictures of people and charge them ridiculous amounts of money for pictures!” Only after second shooting for awhile did I realize this had been an underlying passion I wanted to be apart of!!

So I started with second shooting weddings, LOVED it! Not only taking the pictures but being apart of the whole wedding day experience. Every wedding makes me want to get married again, to my husband every time of course =). I enjoy being there with the bride before she walks down the aisle and talking with her to help calm her nerves. It makes me feel as if I’m not just there to takes pictures but to connect with the bride and remind her to take in every moment because the day goes by so fast.

Now I remind you this is second shooting, meaning I’m typically in the back getting the bride as she walks down the aisle, then moving around the venue getting different angles the main photographer is getting, and other details the main photographer cannot focus on during the ceremony.

I have photographed a wedding in Siesta Key Florida but it was the bride, groom, the brides Aunt and Uncle. I didn’t have to worry about a bridal party to keep watch after, remembering to capture each special moment, the venue FULL of people, and paparazzi guests(those guests who feel the need to get out their phones, camera, Pads, full personal camera crews and get in the way of my shot). By the way, I’ll write about those guests in later post.

With all of that being said, I’m wondering if I should find only certain categories to photograph or do it all. We shall see!

Leave a Reply

